Every year thousands of New Yorker’s are attacked and bitten by dogs, often leaving them with significant injuries, disfiguring scars, and substantial medical bills. The dog’s owner is responsible for the animal’s behavior and must take precautions to prevent these incidents from occurring.
If you have been the victim of a dog attack, contact the NYC dog bite attorneys at Tucker Lawyers PC so that we can investigate immediately. In order to receive compensation for the injuries that you have sustained and recoup the money paid to medical providers, it must be proven that the owner knew of the dog’s viscous propensity or that the dog had previously bitten someone in the past. The « one free bite» rule in New York makes it very difficult for victims to be compensated for their injuries so it is imperative that we get to work right away.
Things You Should Know to Prevent Being Bitten
To reduce the risk of being bitten by a dog you should never approach a dog from behind or one that is sleeping or eating, do not make loud noises or sudden movements around a dog, stare directly into a dog’s eyes, or attempt to kiss a dog on its face.
What You Should Do After a Dog Bite
If you have been bitten by a dog you should attempt to obtain the dog’s medical history and seek medical attention. You should then file a report with the police as well as animal control. Immediately thereafter you should contact the dog bite injury attorneys or personal injury attorneys in Queens at Tucker Lawyers PC so that we can put our decades of experience to work for you to ensure that you receive the compensation that you are entitled to.
No. However, the insurance company employs an army of attorneys, claims specialists, and experts to win the case, so in order to get the compensation that you are entitled to, you will need to hire an attorney that specializes in this type of law. Our legal team has decades of experience and a proven track record of maximizing settlements, and we are in the best position to guarantee that you get everything that you are entitled to. Contact us at (516) 399-2364 or online for a free consultation.
How long do I have to bring a claim?
The statute of limitations (or time in which a claim must be brought from the date of the accident) is 3 years for a personal injury claim. If a claim is being brought for wrongful death, the claim must be brought within 2 years from the date of death. If the claim is being brought against a municipality, the time to bring a claim is significantly shorter, depending on who the claim is against, so you should consult with an attorney immediately.
Is the hit and run driver 100% at fault?
New York law follows the pure comparative negligence rule, which states that an injured party will receive compensation for their injuries in proportion to their percentage of contribution to the accident. For example, if a jury believes that a claimant was 10% at fault, the other driver is responsible for paying 90% of the claimant’s damages. In most cases, if a hit-and-run driver has been identified, he will be held strictly liable, meaning that he will be held 100% liable, as fleeing the scene can be considered an admission of guilt.
How long does it take for police to investigate a hit-and-run?
There is no specific timeframe for investigating a hit-and-run accident. How long it takes for police to investigate a hit-and-run will depend on things like whether there were witnesses to the crash who can be interviewed, whether there were traffic cameras and cameras at local businesses that may have captured the accident, and other factors that may make it easier for the hit-and-run driver to be identified. It’s important to contact an attorney right away if you are the victim of a hit-and-run, whether the person who caused the accident has been identified or not.
Do I need an attorney to handle my claim?
No. However, the insurance company employs an army of attorneys, claims specialists, and experts to win the case, so in order to get the compensation that you are entitled to you will need to hire an attorney that specializes in this type of law. Our legal team has decades of experience and a proven track record of maximizing settlements and we are in the best position to guarantee that you get everything that you are entitled to.
How long do I have to bring a claim?
The statute of limitations (or time in which a claim must be brought from the date of the accident) is 3 years for a personal injury claim. If a claim is being brought for wrongful death the claim must be brought within 2 years from the date of death. If the victim of the bite is a child the statute of limitations is 3 years from the date the child turns 18 years old.
Do I have to pay any legal fees if I lose my case?
No. Our attorneys work on a contingency fee which states that if you don’t win your case we don’t get paid.
How much is my case worth?
If any attorney tells you that they know how much your case is worth before reviewing all of the documentation then they are lying or incompetent. However, our legal team has decades of experience and will maximize the value of your case.
How long will it take to settle my case?
Every case is different but our legal team utilizes the most advanced technology and aggressive legal strategy to expedite our client’s cases, generally resolving cases years faster than any other firm.
What should I do if I have been bitten by a dog?
You should immediately seek medical attention and then file reports with animal control and local police.
What do we have to prove to win the case?
In New York, dog’s are permitted one «free» bite, which means that the owner is not responsible to compensate you if the dog had not bitten anyone in the past. However, if it can be proven that the dog has shown signs of viscous propensity prior to the attack (the courts have recognized growling, snapping and baring teeth as signs of viscous propensity) then the dog’s owner will be found strictly liable. For this reason it is critical to contact the New York dog bite attorneys at Tucker Lawyers PC immediately after the attack.
Is the dog owner covered by insurance?
Yes, most homeowner’s policies and renter’s policies will cover damages caused by a dog bite.
Should I take photographs of my injuries?
Yes. Photographs of your wounds should be taken every two weeks so that the significance of the injuries and the length of time it took for them to heal can be properly documented.
TOP 5 MISTAKES MADE AFTER A DOG BITE ACCIDENT
Failure to file an accident report
Refusal of medical attention
Failure to take photographs bi-weekly depicting the healing of the wound
Speaking directly with the Insurance Company
Not hiring an experienced dog bite accident attorney who will complete all filings to protect your rights and ensure that you will receive the compensation that you deserve
Managing Attorney John. J. Tucker, Esq.
John has personally handled thousands of clients who were victims of another’s negligence and fights relentlessly for their rights. John enjoys bringing closure to a client’s matter so that the injured party can move forward with their life. His background enables him to evaluate complex liability related claims and bring resolution to claims in a record time frame.
[ Attorney Bio ]
Table of Contents
Free, Immediate Consultation
Accident? Tell us about it and let our lawyers help today.